WSOP 2013 No-Limit Hold’em Event #53 won by Brett Shaffer

July 3, 2013 in 2013 WSOP news

No-Limit Hold'em Event #53 won by Brett ShaffeBrett Shaffer won the No-Limit Hold’em Event #53 and his first bracelet. Brett got the $665,397 first place prize for his achievement after outlasting a field of 2,816 players who gave a $1,500 buy in.

The final table started with the eliminations of Matias Ruzzi (9th), Darren Rabinowitz (8th), Jonathan Cohen (7th) and Diego Zeiter (6th) after only 23 hands. The rest five players had a tough battle on their way to the win and Mike Watson led in chips when the players went for dinner.

The first elimination was that of Watson who left in 5th place. Harwood who tried to be the first female to win a bracelet this year didn’t make all the way as see lost to Vamplew’s A-Q suited leaving the event at 4th place with $210,456. On the final level, Shaffer eliminated Raekorpi in 3rd place and went to heads up play with the chip lead.

After 23 hands of heads up play, Shaffer three bet with A-9 and Vamplew called with Q-Q. The flop came with A-9-3 giving Shaffer 2 pairs. Vamplew was waiting for a queen that never came and ended up second earning $413,157 for his effort. That was his second 2nd place at the series.

No-Limit Hold’em Event #53

Place Name Prize 
1 Brett Shaffer $665,397
2 David Vamplew $413,157
3 Arttu Raekorpi $291,392
4 Loni Harwood $210,456
5 Mike Watson $153,850
6 Deigo Zeiter $113,819
7 Jonathan Cohen $85,193
8 Darren Rabinowitz $64,513
9 Matias Ruzzi $49,420


Read more